Fun with Succulants

Tea Cup and Saucer Full of Succulents

Tea Cup and Saucer Full of Succulents

After making the frames, I wanted to do more with succulents so I went shopping, looking for sales of course. At a local craft store I found some items marked 40% off and thought “aha, I can do something with that.”  By the way, “I’m going to ‘do something’ with that is my standard answer to my husband when he asks what something is for. “I’m going to do something with it.”  I don’t know what at the time, but an idea will come. Which is why I hate to have garage sales.  Back to the project, here’s some before photos of what I bought:

Cup and Saucer

Cup and Saucer

Wine bottle holder

Wine bottle holder with wire mesh added

Turtle

Turtle

First, I lined the insides with construction mesh (wire) and added a coat of indoor/outdoor spray paint:

Painted wine bottle holder

Painted wine bottle holder

You can see the wire mesh if you look closely. Next, for the upright objects, I lined them with that grassy, sticky, stuff that you can put in a hanging plant holder. I don’t know what it’s called.

Painted and filled cup and saucer

Painted and filled cup and saucer

I added a few small rocks in the bottom and the soil. I had a couple of those basket liners lying around so I just cut them to fit my objects. On the sides, I used scissors or a pointed skewer to spread some openings in that grassy filler thing in which to insert some plants. You could top off the soil with some tiny small rocks, but I didn’t have any.

Wine Bottle Holder with Succulents

Wine Bottle Holder with Succulents

Finished! And happy Mother's day (early) to my Mom

Finished! And happy Mother’s day (early) to my Mom

As far as that turtle goes, I stared long and hard at it in the store and came up with a plan.

Painted turtle

Painted turtle

I wish I had chosen a darker green instead of this light, lime green. Oh, well, this fellow is going to be an inverted planter.

Working upside down

Working upside down

I lined it with mesh and that hanging basket thing and added dirt. I actually added, and watered, and added more dirt to it than this picture shows. I also cut a bottom out of thin plywood. I couldn’t make a pattern because the legs were in the way so I kind of outlined it and then chipped away with a Dremel saw tool until I got it to fit. Then I drilled drainage holes.

Closed up almost tight

Closed up almost tight

Then I just wired the bottom to the turtle, flipped it over and added plants.  Again, I had to cut or wiggle the liner apart to make room for roots.

Turtle with succulents

Turtle with Succulents

Turtle with succulents

Turtle with Succulents

Turtle with Succulents

Turtle with Succulents

And there we go. I have a few gaps because I ran out of plants, but I can add some more later or leave it for the others to have room to grow. Now I don’t know if the dirt is going to compact down and leave the top plants with roots out of the soil and I don’t know how well the water is going to get down in there when sprinkled from the top. But, I’ll keep an eye on them and if it doesn’t work then I’ll take them out and DO SOMETHING else with the turtle.  I made these about two weeks ago, so I’ll update in the future.

Since I think these turned out pretty well, I’ll be keeping my eyes open for other little objects that can be used like this.

My collection is GROWING

My collection is GROWING

5 thoughts on “Fun with Succulants

  1. Thanks! I’m very new to blogging (two days now) so I hope the instructions are clear enough. These are projects I’ve already done, so for future projects I want to take more photos of the steps.

  2. 819421 206928Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I offer credit and sources back to your website? My blog is within the exact exact same region of interest as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the info you offer here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks! 585115

Leave a Reply

